About Us

About the Department of Community Development

Mission Statement

The Department of Community Development is dedicated to its effort in meeting the needs of citizenry and organization throughout the city. The implementation of successful programs that enhance the community is of priority one. Housing initiatives, homeownership opportunities, and a strong network of supportive public services are the foundation on which a stronger Gary will be built.

“To build an economically viable community by supporting initiatives which foster decent housing and provide clean, safe, and stable neighborhoods for all citizens.”

Management Staff

E. Nikole Rumph, J.D. – Interim Director
nrumph@gary.gov

Adrian Yates – Fiscal Manager
ayates@gary.gov

Wanda J. Pettigrew – Special Programs Manager
wpettigrew@gary.gov

Lakia Manley – Housing Manager
lvmanley@gary.gov

Evelyn Aponte – Compliance Manager
eaponte@gary.gov

Judith Samson – NSP Programs / HUD Certified Counselor
jsamson@gary.gov

Programs