Gary Historic Preservation Commission

2022 Schedule of Meetings

2022 Meetings Dates have not yet been determined.

Meeting Archive


The commission is comprised of 8 members appointed by the mayor.

Honoring Founding President Commissioner Naomi Millinder, Emeritus, 1945 - 2018

Creation and Purpose

Gary's Redevelopment is dependent on the Gary Historic Preservation Commission's success of protecting and preserving historic sites.

Duties and Responsibilities

  • Identify of historic structures and buildings and districts.
  • Prepare recommendations and author protective legislation action by the Gary Common Council
  • Developing design guidelines buildings and historic districts
  • Co-host the Gary Preservation Tour with the Departments of Planning and Redevelopment.
  • Serve as a resource to the residents of Gary